Words and Things

I am almost done with college! I have six more months before I join the elite Class of 2013. What do I have to show for it, as of right now? I think I should narrow this down to the past year. The past four years of college would be a lot of work;  going back to high school would be crazy. 

I have written over 1,000,000 words. Essays, short stories for class, research paper proposals, and projects all tallied up to create this feat. Over 1,000,000 words in one year. I never knew I had that much to say about things I was told to research. My favorite essay (yes I have a favorite) is the one in which I highlighted feminism found in The Little Mermaid. I had so much fun watching the movie for rhetorical aspects that promoted feminism, down to listening to the soundtrack to pick up words I sang along to as a child without understanding the meaning. Did you know Ursula promotes using your body, your sexuality, to get what you want? But, she gets skewered, and so do all her anti-feminism beliefs!

I wrote a short story for class this year, Like Vines. It’s about an elderly man, widowed two years ago, and living with Alzheimer’s disease. He walks through his house, trying to remember the life he shared with his wife, recites lines from her favorite poetry, and visits the rose garden she cared for and he pruned. The story involves a lot of symbolism and imagery, and I was praised highly by my professor and peers. The bittersweet-ness of this story was inspired by my grandfather, who lost his wife and lives with Alzheimer’s, and I wish he could understand me when I speak (English is his second language). 

Enough with sad things. I’m almost graduating! I have 3 jobs as of right now. I have edited 4 books (technically 3, but I’m on my third read through of the fourth). I work in retail at the mall, so I meet new people every day and I love getting to know these strangers; even if I only know them for a few minutes and then I never see them again. I am taking summer classes, for the second time in my life by choice. I have a great internship brewing, and I’m learning all about the History of Rhetoric. This history class is nothing like I imagined. We aren’t just following Greek history, we are doing an updated version that involves Asia, Africa, and Women’s rhetoric. 

More on that class later! I’ve got to get ready for work! Have a great day, readers!

Leave a Reply

